Because of elevator repair work, the Ford’s Theatre Museum will not have elevator access.
In 1849, William A. Petersen, a German tailor, constructed the plain red brick three-story and basement townhouse across the street from Ford’s Theatre. After the shooting, President Lincoln was carried to the house and tended in a back bedroom until his death hours later.
Since acquiring the house (now 516 10th Street) in 1933, the National Park Service has maintained it as a historic house museum, recreating the scene at the time of Lincoln's death. Here, visitors can learn more about that fateful night and the people who surrounded the President in his final hours.
Click here for information on visiting Ford’s Theatre.