Ford’s Theatre National Historic Site (Museum, Theatre, Petersen House) and the Center for Education and Leadership will be closed to the public on Monday, May 19, 2014.

Violet

Violet
January 24-February 23, 2014
music by Jeanine Tesori
lyrics and book by Brian Crawley
based on The Ugliest Pilgrim by Doris Betts
music direction by Jay Crowder
directed by Jeff Calhoun

"Jeff Calhoun, who staged a surefire Big River here in 2005, and did well by Shenandoah a year later, again applies his eye and ear to a tuneful tale set in rural America.” –The Washington Post

“A full-throated and deeply emotional revival! Passionate lovers of musical theatre in all its forms should consider this show a must" -The Washingtonian

“A truly charming and meaningful new American musical!” –The New York Post

“Deeply stirring! As [Jeanine] Tesori has demonstrated in shows like Caroline, or Change, set in the South in the same period, she has an ear acutely attuned to American roots music. At the same time, she is an eloquent melodist.” –The New York Times

Read more reviews.

A touching story of love, hope and healing. In the early 1960s, a young woman travels across the South in search of a miracle. On her journey, she meets two young soldiers who help her learn about courage, beauty and her own self-worth. Jeanine Tesori (Caroline, or Change, Fun Home and Thoroughly Modern Millie) returns with a dynamic score of bluegrass, gospel, country and rock. Directed by Tony-nominated Jeff Calhoun (Broadway’s Newsies).

This performance will run approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes (including a 15-minute intermission). Recommended for ages 13 and up. Mature themes, sexual innuendo, some profanity and depictions of alcohol use.

Violet Meet and Mingle
February 8 at 9:50 p.m.

Following the 7:30 p.m. performance on February 8, talk theatre with fellow fans of the show as well as cast members, including Erin Driscoll (Violet) and James Gardiner (Monty), who will be on hand to share their stories. This event takes place at the restaurant Bistro D’Oc, located just across the street from Ford’s Theatre. A cash bar will be available. Tickets to the February 8 performance are not required. Read more.

Please note: The January 29 performance at 7:30 p.m. is a private performance.

Dates and actors subject to change.


Watch: Video
enews-violet-photos
See: Photos
enews-violet-essay
Read: Program Essay
enews-violet-essay
Artistic Team
enews-violet-essay
Song List

Lead Sponsor: Exxon Mobil Corporation
Media Partner: WAMU 88.5

Dates

  • Friday, January 24, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, January 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, January 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, January 31, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 2, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Tuesday, February 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 5, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, February 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, February 7, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 9, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, February 13, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, February 13, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, February 14, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 16, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, February 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 2:00pm